Learning Lua, and my troubles linking it

I’ve spent the passed week reading the Lua programming book. I focused on the last fourth of the book. This section was focused on the C API, which is what I am writing for our engine. Basically, Lua operations are put onto a stack for access on Lua and on C. It doesn’t seem like a difficult thing to interface with, but that wasn’t my trouble.

The biggest trouble I had last week was actually getting Lua to work on my laptop. For some reason, no matter what we did, we couldn’t link Lua correctly. We weren’t sure if I’m missing something or if it just doesn’t want to work correctly on Windows. Luckily, I have a second laptop that we were able to format and install Arch onto. After that whole big debacle, I was finally able to start prototyping some interaction between Lua and C.

Leave a comment